Skip to content
HomeAwards & Prizes 2020

Awards & Prizes 2020

Prize Winners 2020

Prize Winners 2020


SAIMechE Shield

BEng Cum Laude Shields

BEng Cum Laude Shield

BEng Cum Laude - Ivan Humphreys

BEng Cum Laude - Francois Bredell

BEng Cum Laude - Alex Van Der Westhuizen

BEng Cum Laude - Marco Jauss

BEng Cum Laude - Rachel Swallow

BEng Cum Laude - Ralf Hansen

BEng Cum Laude - Ross Nelson

BEng Cum Laude - Sheldon Erasmus

BEng Cum Laude - Tomas Moschides

BEng Cum Laude - Travis Defty

BEng Cum Laude - Ulrich Louw

PRASA - Jacob Rishworth

Kroonrat – Machine Design

Kröger Book Prize – Eduard Fourie

SAIMechE - Tomas Moschides and Carl-Hein Visser

SAIMechE – Tomas Moschides: Mechanical Engineering

SAIMechE – Carl-Hein Visser: Mechatronic Engineering

SponsorPrizePrize winner 2020
AAT CompositesBest Final Year Project in Composite MaterialsRalf Hansen
AFSABest use of aluminium in a Final Year ProjectEamon van der Merwe
Arthur Child TrustExceptional achievement in Aerospace Engineering on Postgraduate levelJohan Ubbink
AutodeskFor the best use of Inventor in a Final Year ProjectNdamulelo Mulaudzi
Clifford Machines & TechnologyBest 2nd year Mechatronic Engineering studentMyran Odayan
Best 3rd year Mechatronic Engineering studentMurray Harraway
CRSESBest Final Year Project in Renewable EnergyLiam Snyman
Best Postgraduate Project in Renewable EnergyKyle Roberts
DeltaV AerospaceBest Final year student in Mechanical EngineeringIvan Humphreys
Best Postgraduate student in Mechanical EngineeringMatthew Yoko
DSI-NRF Centre of Excellence in Strong MaterialsBest 3rd Year student for Excellence in Materials Science and EngineeringHannes Koekemoer
Murray Harraway
Best Final year student for Excellence in Materials Science and EngineeringTravis Defty
GeoSUN AfricaBest final year project in Solar EnergyLiam Snyman
ITMBest final year project or Masters degree relevant to Satellite EngineeringWilliam Ellerbeck
Heever TechnologiesBest Final Year Project in Biomedical EngineeringTomas Moschides
John ThompsonExceptional achievement in Mechanical EngineeringMelody Neaves
Best Final Year Project in Thermal Energy SystemsIvan Humphreys
Kelvion ServicesBest 2nd year student in Mechanical EngineeringBradley Jacobs
Best 3rd year student in Mechanical EngineeringHannes Koekemoer
Best 3rd year student in Mechanical DesignHannes Koekemoer
Kröger Book PrizeFor the best final year project in Thermodynamics or Heat TransferEduard Fourie
Machine Design B344 Project CompetitionBest Project in Machine Design B344Group 28 - 79.4 %
Elger Braasch
Ross Goble
Eugene Marais
Josua van Tonder
Mechatronics 424 Project CompetitionBest Project in Mechatronics 424Group 5 - 88 %
Selien Alberts
Pieter van Schalkwyk
James Cullis
Gerhardus Doubell
Marthinus Bester
MMW-prizesMost outstanding final year student in the laboratory environmentPetrus Haasbroek
Most outstanding postgraduate student in the laboratory environmentRenier Janse van Vuuren
PRASAPRASA Research Chair award: Best final year railway projectJacob Rishworth
SAIMechEBest Final Year Project in Mechanical EngineeringTomas Moschides
Best Final Year Project in Mechatronic EngineeringCarl-Hein Visser
Simera Technology GroupBest progress for a mechanical / mechatronic final year project by the middle of the yearRoss Egberink
Most independent and innovative student (under- or postgraduate) for practical work in the Structures LaboratoryTroy Payne
TF DesignBest Final Year Student in Mechatronic EngineeringMarco Jauss
Best Postgraduate Student in Mechatronic EngineeringAndreas Werle van der Merwe
Vibration & AcousticsBest Final Year Project in Vibration & AcousticsAlex van der Westhuizen

Postgraduate Cum Laude Students

Seranya Moodley
MEng Structured
Kyle Roberts
MEng Structured
Ryan Stevens
MEng Structured
Kenny van RomburghMEng Structured
Bradley BezuidenhoutMEng Research Mechanical
Derwalt ErasmusMEng Research Mechanical
Llewellyn GroeneveldMEng Research Mechanical
David LeighMEng Research Mechanical
Zander MeiringMEng Research Mechanical
Megan StarkeMEng Research Mechanical
Hano Van EckMEng Research Mechanical
Christof van ZijlMEng Research Mechanical
Adam VenterMEng Research Mechanical
Elsmari WiumMEng Research Mechanical
Matthew YokoMEng Research Mechanical
Jesslyn BossauMEng Research Mechatronic
Sung Bok ChungMEng Research Mechatronic
Andreas Werle van der MerweMEng Research Mechatronic
Sakeena AlliePg Dip in Engineering
Dingambaye NeldjePg Dip in Engineering
Jamie Van WykPg Dip in Engineering

Cum Laude Final Year students - Mechatronic Engineering

Marco Jauss
Francois Bredell
Sheldon Erasmus
Alex van der Westhuizen
Dian Fourie
Ross Nelson
Ralf Hansen
Ulrich Louw
Travis Defty
Rachel Swallow

Cum Laude Final Year students - Mechanical Engineering

Tomas Moschides
Ivan Humphreys

Recognition & Appreciation to the Sponsors of these Prizes